Theemidhi or Firewalking Ceremony

  • Sunday 28 October 2018

Theemidhi or Fire Walking Ceremony honours Goddess Draupadi, heroine of the epic poem “Mahabarata” and deified by the Hindus if South India as Draupadi Amman. Legend has it that she had to prove her innocence and fidelity by walking barefoot over hot coals. For weeks before the ceremony, devotees practice strict vegetarianism and fasting rituals in addition to observing austerities.

Every year, Theemidhi is celebrated in the month of October or November. On the actual day, the ceremony starts at 1.00am at the Sri Srinivasa Perumal Temple where the devotees take ritual baths before setting off on a 4km walk to Sri Mariamman Temple.

The highlight of the ceremony is the walk devotees make across a pit of fire. The preparation of the four meter long pit of hot, burning coal that usually takes about five hours is especially important and is preceded with prayer and ritual.

Once the pit is ready, the chief pandaram of Sri Mariamman Temple would take the first walk across the scorching bed of coals. With intense concentration, barefooted devotees who wish to fulfill a vow make their walk across the pit – completing the challenge miraculously unscathed. Absolute faith, courage and endurance of devotees can be witnessed at this breathtaking ceremony.

Click here to download the brochure of Fire Walking Festival 2018.

Important Events

Date/Day Time Events
28.09.18 (Fri) 9.30am  Thabasu Maram Sthabanam
9.30pm  Arjunan Thabasu
29.09.18 (Sat) 8.00pm  Keesaga Samharam
01.10.18 (Mon) 7.00pm  Sri Aravan Poojai
08.10.18 (Mon) 7.30pm  Sri Aravan Kalapali
20.10.18 (Sat) 10.00am  Special Prayers- Commencement of Fire Walking ‘Viratham’ (Fasting)
28.10.18 (Sun) 2.00am  Chakravarthi Kottai
7.50am  Padukalam
6.30pm  Fire Walking Ceremony
30.10.18 (Tue) 11.30am  Closure of Firepit
31.10.18 (Wed) 7.30pm  Sri Dharmaraja Pattabishegam
01.11.18 (Thurs) 7.00pm  Manjal Neeraduthal

Dates/ Timings of Fulfilling Vows

Date/Day Paalkudam Kumbiduthandam Angaprathatchnam
12.10.18 (Fri) 3.00am to 3.30am 4.30am to 6.30am 6.30am to 9.00am
13.10.18 (Sat) 3.00am to 3.30am 4.30am to 6.30am 6.30am to 9.00am
14.10.18 (Sun) 3.00am to 3.30am 4.30am to 6.30am 6.30am to 9.00am
19.10.18 (Fri) 2.00am to 3.00am 4.00am to 6.30am 7.00am to 9.00am
20.10.18 (Sat) 2.00am to 3.00am 4.00am to 6.30am 7.00am to 9.00am
21.10.18 (Sun) 2.00am to 3.00am 4.00am to 6.30am 7.00am to 9.00am
22.10.18 (Mon) No Paalkudam 6.30am to 8.00am 8.00am to 9.30am
23.10.18 (Tue) No Paalkudam 6.30am to 8.00am 8.00am to 9.30am
24.10.18 (Wed) No Paalkudam 6.30am to 8.00am 8.00am to 9.30am
25.10.18 (Thurs) No Paalkudam 6.30am to 8.00am 8.00am to 9.30am
26.10.18 (Fri) 1.30am to 2.30am 3.30am to 5.30am 6.00am to 9.00am
27.10.18 (Sat) 1.30am to 2.30am 3.30am to 6.00am 7.00am to 9.30am
28.10.18 (Sun) 1.00am to 2.00am Kumbiduthandam & Angaprathatchanam cannot be performed

Temple welcomes donors/ volunteers to be part of the Sri Mariamman Temple Community